The Allman Betts Band


26 Jul 2020

Jambase – The Allman Betts Band Announces New Album ‘Bless Your Heart’ & Shares Single

The Allman Betts Band announced a new album, Bless Your Heart, due out on August 28 through BMG. The group also shared the LP’s lead single, “Magnolia Road.”

Bless Your Heart follows The Allman Best Band’s 2019 debut album, Down To The River. The group consisting of Devon Allman (guitar, vocals), Duane Betts (guitar, vocals), Berry Duane Oakley (bass), Johnny Stachela (guitar, vocals), John Ginty (keyboards), R Scott Bryan (percussion, vocals) and John Lum (drums) headed to the legendary Muscle Shoals Sound Studio to record Bless Your Heart, just as they had done on Down To The River, with additional tracking in Memphis and St. Louis. The LP also features guest contributions from Jimmy Hall, Shannon McNally, Art Edmaiston, Susan Marshall and Reba Russell.

“I think we definitely challenged ourselves, pushed ourselves artistically, and widened the spectrum on all levels,” Duane Betts said in a statement. “We wanted something that was a little more sweeping. A deeper experience.”

“I hope what people hear on Bless Your Heart is a band that’s having a love affair with being a band,” Devon Allman added.

On Bless Your Heart’s lead single, “Magnolia Road,” Devon and Duane shared a lyric with collaborator Stoll Vaughan, who penned a semi-biographical tune following the lives of the sons of The Allman Brothers Band’s Gregg Allman and Dickey Betts.

“Magnolia Road” arrived with an accompanying animated music video. Watch it below: